Anime Reel – Anime & Manga TV News

Welcome to AnimeReel!

Posted on: October 27, 2009

The design is temporary and the content area is blanker than freshly fallen snow, but AnimeReel is open!

SideReel.com now has an anime affiliate, and by an anime affiliate I really mean “A place for Dom to blog about anime, manga, Japanese music, and whatever else he thinks of that doesn’t quite fit on SideReel.”

I should kick off this new blog by introducing myself and my background in Japanese otaku culture. My name is Dominic Nguyen, and I am a proud alumnus of the University of California, Berkeley and its storied Cal Animage Alpha. I became an anime fan back when Devil Hunter Yohko and Bubblegum Crisis were new, and was hooked hard enough to teach myself the Japanese phonetic alphabets through a game called Sakura Taisen. Some time in the last two decades I made a conscious, if misguided, choice to try and turn my encyclopedic knowledge of anime and trivia into a career.

On the professional side, I’ve written for NewType USA magazine, Anime Insider, Wired Magazine, and GamePro, as well as a few other scattered projects. On the fan side, I’ve… well, I’ve done some things I haven’t been very proud of, mostly involving the consumption of overly cutesy Japanese music. And, um, maybe going to a few concerts featuring said cutesy Japanese music.

I’ll be doing a lot of posting on this site over the next few weeks, so look forward to all of the previews, reviews, and news that will be coming!

1 Response to "Welcome to AnimeReel!"

Dom…. since this is your place, and you never get the chance any more on MT :(… Will you be posting a Shirt Guy Dom every now and then??? please…

really, there are SGD fans out there (I know atleast 2 other personally)

btw, review Seitokai no Ichizon, it’s my favorite this season

Leave a Reply

