Anime Reel – Anime & Manga TV News

Haruhi Movie Given Date – Fans Await Nervously

Posted on: November 3, 2009

Not shown: disappointed fans.

Because there has to be a sad girl in snow somewhere on this front page.

According to all-knowing Japanese news site Moon Phase, the upcoming movie version of The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya is set for a February 6, 2010 release in theaters. The movie is called The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya and adapts the novel of the same name, which follows the narrator Kyon as he tries to figure out why the world has turned upside-down and become frighteningly normal.

I really liked the novel, which was the fourth in the series, and I really hope that Kyoto Animation doesn’t mess this one up as badly as they messed up the Endless Eight and Sigh stories. They did a lot of damage to their fan base with the second season, and it’ll take a slam-dunk movie to restore fan faith in not just the Haruhi series, but the post-YamaKan ability of Kyoto Animation to make good anime.

We’ll find out one way or another in three months!

8 Responses to "Haruhi Movie Given Date – Fans Await Nervously"

Glad to see you on your own blog, Dom. Awesome stuff. (MT fan here. Though this welcome is a bit late.)

I hear this arc is good. Endless Eight was… something, I guess. I had nothing better to do for those 24 minutes weekly, I suppose. I look forward to this movie. (I don’t read manga or light novels, so I suppose it might not be as good as I’ve heard, but hey, can’t be worse than Endless Eight.)

Yukiiiiii. o.o
Yeah, this is gonna have to have a LOT of normal-yuki in it to make me forgive kyoani for the Sigh.

Well, the Sigh made me consider to make a new change of nickname…
Nice thing you’ve got your own anime blog. I always trusted the advices from MT folks, and I never felt cheated by them.

Kyon, MT.fr translator

Am I the only human being in the world who enjoyed the second series? When you watch them in the new running order with the first series, it plays really well.
Regardless, I’m very much looking forward to the film.

You are a very patient person.

I also quite enjoyed the second season, not that it was really a full “season.”

Admittedly, I have only just begun reading the light novels, so I cannot speak for the accuracy of the anime. I have heard tale of some of the changes they made that irritated a lot of fans.

As for Endless Eight… it was annoying, but I didn’t really hate it… Guess I’m just patient.

The second season was great, and the movie sounds very promising.

I, for one, absolutely loved “Endless Eight.” More KyoAni, MOAR!

Leave a Reply

