Anime Reel – Anime & Manga TV News

Evangelion You Are (Not) Alone 8-Minute Trailer From FUNimation

Posted on: November 12, 2009

The long-awaited domestic DVD release of the Neon Genesis Evangelion remake movie, Evangelion: 1.01 You Are (Not) Alone, is coming on November 17th. To give people an idea of just how much the old Eva horse has been rejuvenated by the remake, FUNimation has posted a whopping eight and a half minutes of the movie on YouTube.

I’m not personally an Eva fan, but holy crap, this looks (and sounds!) good. No wonder it did so well back in 2007.

3 Responses to "Evangelion You Are (Not) Alone 8-Minute Trailer From FUNimation"

Please note that 1.01 is a massively screwed up release. The mastering was done so badly that 1.11 was commissioned to correct it.

Having watched both, the difference is dramatic – this is not a subtle touch up. There were whole scenes in 1.01 that you can’t see because they’re so dark. The whole movie is like it’s done through a dirty, dark film. Meanwhile, 1.11 is crisp, bright, and full of detail that was indecipherable in 1.01.

So given that 1.11 was released earlier this year in Japan, *surely* Funimation would be releasing that for Christmas? Nope. We’re getting the dark and muddy 1.01, and will get the 1.11 in spring. This is nothing more than a deceptive money-grab for a defective product.

http://wiki.evageeks.org/Guides:Evangelion_1.01_vs._Evangelion_1.11

While my own language may have been less,… harsh, I concur. 1.11 is far superior to 1.01 in quality. After learning of an english release date I became overjoyed. Yet after viewing the subbed version of 1.11 having previously viewed 1.01 I can say my joy was crushed in disbelief that Funimation wouldn’t simply release 1.11 immediately.

The reason is obviously about money (as all things are) Fans of Evangelion will unwittingly buy 1.01 only to have the greatly improved 1.11 release around the time that reciepts have expired for returns. So, as a more informed fan, I will be waiting for 1.11’s release. That is, unless a 1.21 is released in japan. (which I wouldn’t be too surprised about.)

Well, I guess I’ll be waiting for the 1.11 release like the above fellows. Can’t say I’ve been into Eva as hardcore as some people (like one of my friends), especially as I don’t think I was into anime when it was around the first time. After watching “The End of Evangelion” with my friends though, I can say, my mind snapped, and I was filled with joy.

Leave a Reply

