Anime Reel – Anime & Manga TV News

Tuesday Tunes – The Macross Frontier Movie

Posted on: December 1, 2009

I like this image better than the album cover, which makes it look like Sheryl is a flat-chested giraffe girl.

The Macross Frontier movie recently came out in Japanese theaters, and while I won’t be able to get my grubby little hands on it for a while, I did manage to acquire a copy of the special album that comes with the movie, and it’s… a little hard to describe. With the wild success of the TV series’ music, the latest set of songs from famed composer Kanno Yoko had a lot to live up to, but between the talents of Kanno and the vocal range of May’n, who sings the Sheryl Nome role, they certainly made a strong run at it.

The centerpiece of the new album is Universal Bunny, which was featured in the movie trailers. I’m not quite sure what to make of it yet – it’s a bait and switch song, where the first 15 seconds or so promise you a very cutesy anime offering, then it segues quickly into a harder rock/pop fusion and stays there for the rest of the song. It’s not bad, but I’m not sure if it matches up to any of the other songs in May’n’s (God, I hate typing that) repertoire from the TV series.

The single for Pink Monsoon was released a couple months back to promote the movie, and I find it really interesting because it has a Janet Jackson vibe. This is definitely one of my favorite songs on the album, though you shouldn’t listen to the lyrics very hard. Come to think of it, you should never listen to the lyrics of an anime song, you’ll just get annoyed after a while.

The last song on the album I’d like to talk a little about is Obelisk, which is one of the songs on the genre-jumping album that actually feels like it came from a Macross series. It has everything I want out of a modern Macross song: a strong melody accompanied by powerful vocals, a rhythm that can turn fast-paced space opera battles into glorious music videos, and sweepingly epic instrumental accompaniment. It’s by far my favorite song on the album, which has a few much weaker offerings as well.

I’m going to spend some more time listening to the album on repeat before I make a final decision, but I’ll probably end up adding Obelisk and Pink Monsoon to my regular rotation and forget about the rest of the music. Who knows, though – maybe when I finally get a chance to see the movie for myself, I’ll see the scenes that accompany the songs and they’ll grow on me…

Leave a Reply

