Anime Reel – Anime & Manga TV News

Joysound Karaoke Rankings Prove Evangelion Just Won’t Die

Posted on: December 3, 2009

Joysound!

All joking aside, it’s pretty interesting to see what the Japanese public likes in terms of anime songs, and Joysound’s annual karaoke rankings are a good indicator of just that. This year, the ’90s hit “Cruel Angel’s Thesis” was the most-sung anime song in the Joysound system, due to the release of Evangelion 2.0. It topped other nostalgic classics like “Touch” (#7) as well as new hits like the theme song from Ponyo (#4) and the ending song of Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood (#8).

Hit the jump for a full listing. (via Anime! Anime!)

1. Cruel Angel’s Thesis / Neon Genesis Evangelion
2. Lion / Macross Frontier
3. Sousei no Aquarion / Sousei no Aquarion
4. Ponyo / Ponyo
5. God knows… / The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
6. Seikan Hikou / Macross Frontier
7. Touch / Touch
8. Uso / Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood
9. Hare Hare Yukai / The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
10. Sobakasu / Rurouni Kenshin

I’ve sung most of these in karaoke before myself, though I tend to leave “God knows…” to my friend Miho. What’s your favorite anime song to sing, whether in a karaoke room or in the shower?

4 Responses to "Joysound Karaoke Rankings Prove Evangelion Just Won’t Die"

Did the Hare Hare Yukai rank high again? That song has been out for a few years now, the fact that it’s still so popular is… quite mysterious. Haruhi should investigate this.
Haha…All joking aside, I still like singing Ready Steady Go from Fullmetal Alchemist whenever I’m in the car, along with C’est La Vie from Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon, and Byakuya True Light from D.N.Angel.

I keep singing “Fly me to the moon” as the Evangelion version even outside of karaoke.

I tend to sing a lot of anime songs, though I’d have to but “Again” from FMAB and the Lucky Star theme, simply because I know the real words without cheeting

Whenever I get a chance to karaoke, I like to sing: Wands – Ashita Moshi Kimi Ga Kowarete Mo, SMAP – Kimi Iro Omoi, and some epic stuff from Jam Project. I leave Cruel Angel’s Thesis to my friend Tomo, who is a professional.

Leave a Reply

