Anime Reel – Anime & Manga TV News

The 5 Most Awesome Things at Comic Market 77

Posted on: December 28, 2009

Oh. My. God.

You see that? That’s a Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann statue from Volks, standing at 33 cm tall and amusingly scaled at 1 to infinity. That’s over a foot tall, for those of us still stuck in the Imperial/American system of measurement. It’s not the most awesome thing at sale at this week’s Comic Market 77, purely on a technicality – it’s only on display at the Volks booth, since it would probably cause huge space issues if they tried to bring more than 5 of them to the show. It’s for the best, really, since the monstrosity will cost over $400 to cover the material costs of pure awesome.

So, ignoring the hosts of doujinshi from my favorite artists, these are my picks for the 5 best things currently on sale at the biggest event in Japanese fando.

#5: Prinny hug pillow (Nippon Ichi Software)Prinnyssu! Or dood, for you Americans.

I’ve never been a fan of dakimakura, AKA hug pillows. I find them really creepy ways of pandering to the lowest forms of fandom. They’re amusing to look at every once in a while, but more often than not I find them to be distasteful and an encouragement of the worst kinds of otaku behavior (I’ll get into the otaku virgin/whore complex some other time). Meanwhile, the Prinny hug pillow just makes me chuckle because of its utter lack of sex appeal. I think it’s a nice little parody of the other commercial booths at Comike, which are stuffed to the gills with anime characters in sexy poses printed on pillowcases. I… probably wouldn’t buy it, but I’d think about keeping it if friends at N1 sent me one.

#4: Fate/Stay Night Archer T-shirt (Type-Moon)I am the bone of my sword. Fire is my body, and steel my blood.

The man who spawned “gar” is back, in a sweet T-shirt design from the Type-Moon booth that promotes the upcoming Fate/stay Night movie. I’m a sucker for a monochrome silhouette design, and if you squint your eyes just right, the translation of the Unlimited Blade Works poem doesn’t suck on this shirt.

No, wait, it still sucks, but at least Archer standing there with Unlimited Blade Works brings up warm and fuzzy memories!

#3: The Baldr Sky Comike Cup

I can’t link any of the pictures from Giga’s Comike offerings because they’re totally not safe for work, but Baldr Sky itself is one of my favorite games of 2009. Giga’s running a tournament for the beat-’em-up portion of the game, and I really wish I could be there to see some gamers showing off their flashiest and silliest combos.

Whoever wins gets to voice a character in the next Team Baldrhead game, but to do that, they have to be able to perform better combos than this (I’ve seen better on nico, but youtube is easier):

#2: Tony’s Line Art Works Vol. 1 (Sega)

Tony Taka’s art is simply unfair, and it makes me buy bad games (see: Shining Wind and Shining Tears). It’s always a treat to take a look at his art, and on the rare occasions when he’s not working on an erotic game I jump on the chance to buy the art book. This book from Sega is mostly his line art with only eight color pages, but it’s still great to see how the sausage is made from the perspective of such a skilled artist.

#1: Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann, 1/infinity scale

Was there really another option? If you find something more awesome than this at Comic Market 77, let me know, but I doubt you’ll find anything better than a foot-tall robot made of manliness made solid.

1 Response to "The 5 Most Awesome Things at Comic Market 77"

“I’ll get into the otaku virgin/whore complex some other time”

Now that’s something to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

