Anime Reel – Anime & Manga TV News

Animelo Summer Live In Shanghai Brings Hope to Otaku Worldwide – Tuesday Tunes

Posted on: February 23, 2010

As long as there's no Kageyama' I'm okay.

For lovers of anime music, the Animelo concert series led by JAM Project is like watching the Dream Team year after year, as all of the best . But having been there once for the 2008 concert, let me tell you that I have no urge to stand out in the August heat in Tokyo for one more minute in my life. It was a great concert, but unless it decides to move to a less humid time of year or a cooler climate, I’m not going back.

So, while their announcement of a November concert in Shanghai doesn’t affect me directly, it gives me hope that within a couple of years, we can see something like it in the US. It’d be a pretty tough sell to try and fly that many acts over the Pacific unless they’re 100% sure they’re going to sell out, but its very existence means that JAM Project’s international tour, which touched American shores at Otakon in 2008, was successful enough to make international ventures viable to Japanese promoters. So, I’m hoping that the Shanghai concert sells out overwhelmingly, and that in 2011 or 2012, the Animelo concerts will come to my neck of the woods. Hit the break to see some of the great performances and anime all-stars that have graced this concert series over the last six years.

This post wouldn’t be complete without me drooling all over Mizuki Nana, so let me take care of that first. This is the kind of performance you can only get at Animelo: it’s Ali Project and Mizuki Nana joining forces to sing one of the Rozen Maiden openings.

Wouldn’t you want to see that live? I wish I could have. I was a year too late, though. Instead, I had to content myself with awesome performances like my favorite Macross song and a duet/medley of two of my favorite Gundam songs:

If that wasn’t epic enough for you anisong fans out there, how about the big ending number from 2009, which had 25 singers belting out in harmony?

Man, I hope this concert comes to the States.

Leave a Reply

