Anime Reel – Anime & Manga TV News

A Look at Spring Anime’s Openings – Tuesday Tunes

Posted on: May 4, 2010

It’s a slow news cycle in Japan thanks to the Golden Week holiday, which means it’s time to take a good hard look at some of the music that’s been released for this season, both good and bad. Above is our first topic: the guitar-heavy opening for Ichiban Ushiro no Daimao, “Realove: Realife” by seiyuu idol group Sphere. It’s a decent tune with the kind of heavy action tempo that I wish the show would demonstrate too, but the TV size hides the group’s shortcomings with this song – if you listen to the full version, I highly recommend listening closely for Toyosaki Aki’s solo, where she proves that while she can carry a tune alright, she can’t sing at the same volume as the other 3 in her group. She sounds like a 5-year-old in a punk band, and it’s hilarious.

I have a soft spot for the Heroman ending by FLOW, “Calling.” This shouldn’t be any surprise to people who have ridden in my car, since I own all of their albums and can’t wait for Fanime to confirm them as guests (oops, did I say that out loud?). The band specializes in light, catchy rock that just makes your day better, and this one is no different. Even the horrendously egregious Engrish in the background can’t bring me down when I listen to this one.

And then we have the surprise star of this season, Sawashiro Miyuki’s whimsically dancy “Title Nante Jibun de Kangaenasai na” (“Think of  a title yourself”). It’s a string of vicious insults sung in Miyukichi’s smoothest tones and set to something resembling ragtime, and I can’t help but love it. The animation that goes with it is just as crazy and weird as the show itself, and I wonder when I’ll be able to buy the single, because this is too fun not to own.

Go after the jump if you’re brave, because that’s where I’ll be posting some of the most execrable “music” from this season (hint: it’s sung by seiyuu who did it on the cheap, and these seiyuu don’t have any business singing for themselves. There’s a reason some characters have a speaking voice and a singing voice).

The Mayoi-Neko Overrun! opening showcases all that is bad in anime music, by throwing a bunch of young, inexpensive girls at a sound wall and hoping that they stick. They don’t, so they try and cover that up by randomly cutesy noises, but when it comes down to it, the song is arranged horribly and there’s just nothing to like about “Happy New Year.”

I’ll probably catch some flak for this, but I really, really hate the K-On!! opening for this season. The first season’s opening wasn’t legendary by any means, but it was pleasant enough and had a fun indy vibe to it. “Go! Go! Maniac” sounds hideously overproduced, and reminds you “Oh yeah, this girl can’t really sing.”

What songs from the current season do you like, or which ones do you skip as soon as you can?

2 Responses to "A Look at Spring Anime’s Openings – Tuesday Tunes"

I gotta admit, even as a fan of K-On!, the new opening is just too much. It’s too fast, too crazy, and just kinda blasts at you, which is absolutely not the show.

The only other show I’m watching is Angel Beats! and I actually really like the opening/closing themes. Slow musically, but powerful vocally. I can dig that.

I liked Durarara!!’s old opening. Not so fond of the new one.

Bakemonogatari’s standard opening was nice too, but I absolutely LOVE the ending.

I still like the opening for Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei Bangaichi, but I prefer Kamiya Hiroshi’s ending rather than the girls’.

Most of the stuff I’ve been watching is several years old by now, so I’ve not got many current series I enjoy listening to. I NEVER skipped Mushishi’s opening, and tried very VERY hard to do the same for Dennou Coil, though time constraints forced me to.

Leave a Reply

