Anime Reel – Anime & Manga TV News

Black Lagoon OVA Premieres at Anime Expo in July

Posted on: May 19, 2010

Expect a whole lot of this.

Expect a whole lot of this.

Anime Expo keeps filling up with events I want to hit up, and the latest announcement from the anime convention adds another to that list. The show will host Black Lagoon creator Hiroe Rei as a guest of honor, and he’ll be bringing the first episode of the new Roberta’s Blood Trail OVA series with him. We’ll be able to get a sneak peek at the third series in the action series on July 1st, over two weeks before the official DVD and Blu-Ray release.

I may have said earlier that I wasn’t looking forward to this OVA because I didn’t like the manga’s story arc, but I am a huge sucker for exclusive premieres and hope I am not on duty when this screening takes place. Make it happen, AX!

4 Responses to "Black Lagoon OVA Premieres at Anime Expo in July"

This would be the “El Baile de la Muerte” arc from the manga right?

Yup. I didn’t like El Baile de la Muerte so much, but maybe it’s better in OVA form. Stories like that tend to be better when you don’t feel like two years of publishing time have been wasted.

Um… Dom, not to correct you over something so petty man, but it was an almost 3 year-cycle of tedium, dullness and… actually, after like the 12th, maybe 13th chapter of that arc, it actually became an exercise of “seriously? still yapping?”.

Then, every time that Roberta vs Everyone else (as one of my fellow Japanese acquaintances dubbed those instances) actually happened it felt almost too little, too late; even with the whole over-the-top viciousness that ensued.

Don’t get me wrong, I love reading dialogue and deep story-lines, but you don’t precisely expect navel-gazing out of someone who’s writing with a premise of “Hot-chick with a gun in each hand”… unless it’s Noir, I guess(and even then, not always).

That arc was just as poorly paced as, well… Bleach, maybe? I don’t know. I kinda feel that, when you’re reading something that comes out on a monthly schedule, you expect a slightly better planning/pacing overall.

Good lord, was it really that long? I think I blanked out on one of the years.

Leave a Reply

