Anime Reel – Anime & Manga TV News

Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt May Be Gainax’s Ugliest Anime Ever

Posted on: September 8, 2010

It’s hard to describe how I’m feeling right now. On one hand, this is Gainax doing something different, and they should be applauded for going outside of the moe mainstream and doing what they want to do instead of doing what will make money. On the other hand, this looks cheaply animated, on the level of some of the ultra-budget shows on Cartoon Network. The general aesthetic seems to be the Powerpuff Girls taken to extremes, and in my opinion, it just doesn’t look good. Between the lowbrow sense of humor and Gainax’s reputation for running out of animation budget early, this show feels like it’s going to be epically bad or just plain bad.

I guess we’ll find out for sure on October 1st, but color me uninterested. I’ll just curl up next to my copy of Gunbuster and cry myself to sleep.

3 Responses to "Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt May Be Gainax’s Ugliest Anime Ever"

in a way, this makes me sad, cause i was actual looking forward to this. Well, in a way, of something totally different from the main stream. It reminded me of Dead Leaves (which, is TOTALLY out there) and these odd anime are usealy left to the wayside, which also makes me sad.

Not only does the animation look like rubbish CN stuff, the characters are named after lingerie. Frankly, I agree with you: this looks awful.

Puh-SHAW gentlemen. CN series WISH that they looked as that good. While I do agree that the overall look of P&S is that of an American cartoon, the fluidity and manic style of the animation look 100x better than any cartoon I have/do watch.

Personally, I think that looks awesome. *thumbs up*

Leave a Reply

