Anime Reel – Anime & Manga TV News

Fall Anime First Impressions

Posted on: October 5, 2010

Here we go!

Cute, but not annoyingly cute. I like it.

Welcome to Fall 2010! We’re about halfway through the premieres, and I’ve watched a good chunk so far. I’m more excited about this season than I’ve been in a while, and some pillars like To Aru Majutsu no Index and The World God Only Knows are yet to air. With that in mind, here’s a preliminary look at the shows that have aired already:
I’m hooked
Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai – At least three people have asked me if there is ever any thread of romance between the Kousaka siblings. Thankfully, the answer is no. This show is a nice, realistic look at a relationship between an exasperated brother and his bossy sister. I appreciate that, and most anime fans I know who have sisters in real life agree with me. Also: this is awesome.
Star Driver – Studio Bones is doing its level best to make the cheese flow, and I’m loving it so far. Just about my only complaint with this spectacularly weird show is the character design for the females, but that’s a minor complaint when the series is really about men who look fabulous fighting in fabulous robots. I mean, just the delivery of the “Damn! Are you the Galactic Prettyboy?” (Kisama, Ginga Bishounen ka?!) line was enough to sell me on this series, which feels like Frankenstein’s Monster made from the parts of Utena, Code Geass, and GaoGaiGar. I’ll probably be writing more on this one in the near future.
MM! – A guilty pleasure, for sure. There’s no reason I should like the adventures of Fukuyama Jun and his quest to have a normal love life, in spite of his masochistic tendencies, his cross-dressing best friend, and the sadodere (is that even a real term?) who wants to cure him of his masochism by calling him a pig-boy and kicking him around. But it’s a train wreck that I can’t stop watching because I keep thinking “Man, they’re not going to go there” and then they go there. I’m not proud of this choice, but it’s just too amusing to stop… for now.
I’ll give it a chance
Iron Man – The first episode was, frankly, dull. But I’m going to shelve this one for a while and wait for it to air on G4, because I have a feeling that it’ll sound way better in English. It just seems unnatural to hear Tony Stark in Japanese, and who knows, maybe the pace will speed up soon.
Super Robot Wars OG: The InspectorDivine Wars was dull and didn’t have enough robots hitting each other. So what does The Inspector have in its first episode, directed by cheesemaster Oobari Masami? Robots punching robots with revolving stakes, robots punching robot punches while shouting attack names, flying snipers, and boobs. These are all things that made Super Robot Wars OG fun in game form, and I’m hoping that they can keep this energy up.
Pass
Bakuman – Molasses-slow pacing, poor animation, and a story that has no real draw to it unless you really want to know how the manga sausage is cooked. I dropped the manga after a couple of chapters, and this episode did nothing to pull me back in.
Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt – I appreciate that Gainax has stepped out of the box with this one. I see what they’re doing with their imitation of modern American animation, and I can appreciate that. What I can’t appreciate is the music and the pacing of the show, where dialogue isn’t so much spoken as it is shouted at a nearly unintelligible pace. It should be acting, not vocal racing. Plus, the story itself is really generic and relies more on shock value than any intrinsic quality, which irks me since I know that the staff is capable of much better than this.
Motto ToLoveRu – I’ve hated it for years, and there’s no reason to stop now.
Didn’t Watch it Yet
Otome Youkai Zakuro (Doesn’t seem up my alley)
Samurai Girls (Ehhhhh…)
Arakawa Under the Bridge 2 (I fully intend to watch this when I have time)
What have you guys watched and liked, and is there anything I haven’t mentioned that you want me to check out?
7 Responses to "Fall Anime First Impressions"

MM! was surprisingly entertaining and Star Driver was funny as hell, and I really I can’t wait for Index too.

Also, you mentioned cheese flowing here and in the Super Robots podcast in The S-Words, what does “the cheese must flow” mean?

I believe “the cheese must flow” is a take on “the spice must flow” from the Dune series.

“The cheese must flow” is an old nod to those really terribley cheesey shows – I remember reading Dom explaining it on the Megatokyo blog while mentioning G Gundam (my second favorite Gundam).

It basically means that this show is over the top, bright, flashy, and kinda stupid, but you enjoy it anyways. And so…the cheese must flow.

OreImo: I’m glad it’s not going to cross the line, but I’m still a little worried about Kirino’s characterization. Not grasping the implications of making your older brother play an ero game about getting it on with your little sister…

Star Driver: Ridiculous, yet awesome. I love it.

Arakawa: Still awesome. Too bad the OP is lame.

Bakuman: I like the manga, but the anime was bland visually. Sure it’s meant to be talky, but a lot of good shows are talky. They could have done more with the visuals.

SRW OG: Couldn’t get into it.

Panty and Stocking: I want to give it a chance, but it’s going to be hard. I suspect this won’t survive my list long.

Otome Yokai Zakuro: Great premise ruined by bland characterization.

Yumeiro Patissiere Professional: New season of my guilty pleasure for the last year. Seems a little less diabetic cuteness and a little more high school drama-y. New character is annoying, unfortunately.

I may be some kind of extreme weirdo since I can feel the allure of the “little sister” while at the same time haveing a REAL little sister.

But I think Kirino explayed it quite well:

“You don’t mix 2D and 3D.”

PS: OreImo took me by surprise… I just can’t wait for the next episode to air °__°.

To me this season looks pretty good….

I’ll break it down into groups….

Loved these from the first episode

MM! – I didn’t see this one coming…. I thought it’d be bland or just plain stupid but here it is in the top group…. It just sorta works and I find myself laughing at it….

Star Driver – So cheesy…. So fabulous…. So awesome…. I didn’t quite get the plot to the end…. But it seemed easy to guess…. Not that any of that matters when I got caught up watching this spectical unfold…. Pure fun….

Oreimo – It’s sorta refreshing…. We get to see a brother/sister realtionship that doesn’t have any wierd undertones (save for one funny joke) and also this means a male/female relationship without romance…. I can’t wait to this how this plays out….

Arakawa – If you watched the first season then I don’t need to say more…. But I will for those who haven’t…. I love the characters in this…. And I love how crazy everything gets…. I’m also a fan of that Shaft look too…. But anyway the first episode was great…. The quailty hasn’t droped…. I think it may have got better…. Except the OP…. It’s no Venus to Jesus….

These seem like they could be good

Shinryaku! Ika Musume – I’m a sucker for the MC…. I just love the idea that she wants to take over the world but is less capable than Zim…. And she’s cute and funny in that Yotsuba way (thought not as good)…. The other characters seem pretty good too…. This could be something quite funny….

Psychic Detective Yakumo – Ok this doesn’t seem like anything new or exciting but it I could get into watching this…. It has that serious feel to it which could be a nice contrast to the other shows I’m watching…. Hopefully things will heat up more….

Otome Yokai Zakuro – I admit I laughed at the main guy when he broke his bishonen stance and became a complete coward…. I thought there’d be more action but it seems like we have more of a rom com with a tsundere and a bishonen who’s scared of her…. I’m not sure how this’ll keep me interested but that’s what the next episode is for….

Panty & Stocking – This is not the best show ever as many people seem to think…. But I don’t feel it’s a trainwreck either…. It’s watchable in that turn your brain off sorta way…. The first half was complete crap (no pun intended)…. The second half was alot more fun…. Let’s just hope this show just goes with that crazy action scene thing….

I am disappoint

Bakuman – I read the manga…. I like it…. But this was…. Ugh…. The animation is so bland and the jokes seem forced here…. I putting this down to Bakuman being something that doesn’t work in anime and should stick to Manga…. Now if they’d made it a PCP anime not only would that have been good but the meta would be delicous….

The rest I haven’t seen yet…. But I will…. And maybe I’ll update this….

Well, some shows you didn’t mention:

Shinryaku! Ika Musume – A light comedy about an anthropomorphic squid arriving at a small beach shack with plans to take over the world to punish the human race for polluting the ocean. Somewhat random in concept but I’m liking it so far; I’d like to hear your opinion on it if you get a chance to see it.

Shinrei Tantei Yakumo – Outdated and executed horrendously, not to mention the supernatural “gimmick” feels stale following occult academy last season. Its just a mess.

Yosuga no Sora – Another anime based on an eroge, and I’m a little pensive about it, as the main selling points of the eroge were the impressive art and voice acting, which is always a hit or miss with adaptations; and the fact that its an incest title (genuine incest). I have to assume the studio is going to either drop the content from that route, or play it off as a “sister who wants to get in his pants but never will” relationship, following suite with stuff like KissxSis.

I have to agree with what your hooked on so far, though Star Driver’s pacing is a bit quick for me, especially right when the main pulled out his robot and did his transformation sequence with seemingly little to no knowledge about what was going on.

I’m not really expecting anything out of Togainu No Chi or Soredemo Machi Wa Mawatteiru, but I’d like to be proven wrong.

Leave a Reply

