Anime Reel – Anime & Manga TV News

Nanami Madobe and Windows 7 Own My Soul

Posted on: October 27, 2009

Nanami Madobe

She's inside my computer, acting cute and performing simple tasks!

Like many other people, I’ve updated my work and home computers to Windows 7 in the last week. It’s been great to me so far, with performance improvements aplenty and more importantly, a very cute mascot. More on Madobe Nanami and the voice behind her after the jump.

Yes, you may have heard about how Microsoft in Japan aimed their efforts squarely at the otaku crowd with Madobe Nanami (whose name is a double pun on “Windows 7” and the voice actress behind her, Mizuki Nana), who is essentially an officially sanctioned OS-tan. They’ve done a few more things to draw in the Akihabara-nerd crowd, bringing in voice actors like Furuya Tooru (the voice of Gundam’s Amuro Ray) and Imai Asami (Chihaya from the mega-popular iDOLM@STER franchise) for release events, but Microsoft’s use of seiyuu idol Mizuki Nana is just unfair for those of us who are huge fans of the girl.

I’ll post more about Mizuki Nana later, but suffice to say that I am a huge fan of her music and her voice. For those of you who aren’t well-versed with the world of Japanese voice acting, you’re most likely to know her as the voice of Hinata in Naruto and Naruto Shippuden, as well as Ogata Rina in White Album and Fate in Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha. She’s the anime idol with the biggest chance of making it big in mainstream Japanese culture, and it could happen right around the New Year’s Kouhaku program if my friends at Seiyuu3 are correct. It’d be deserved, too – check out the pipes on this girl!

8 Responses to "Nanami Madobe and Windows 7 Own My Soul"

Microsoft (Japan Divison only though) have my respect for promotin their new Windows that way. Even if I propably wont EVER install Win7. I have Linux (actually Arch, but earlier i was using Ubuntu) and i can do everything that i need. The funniest thing is that microsoft has put on Win7 promoting website 10 points why i would want to install it, and apparently they are the same as the things that are written in Win XP installer. Did they actually add some nice features that will help me in my daily work, or they just uprgaded everything and changed the GUI?

“This video is no longer available due to a copyright claim by キングレコード株式会社 [King Records Company].”

Oops.

Happens – I’ll find another video to replace it.

Thanks. And yes, she sounds Most Impressive.

What exactly is this OS-tan on your computer? Is it just a wallpaper or is there more to it?

Is there someway to put it on the U.S. version?

It’s a theme pack, with wallpapers and sounds.

You can put it on the US version if you have the .themepack file and all the files that go with it.

and any idea were you can pick up said theme pack?

Hey Dom,

I agree, Windows 7 is a very stable gaming OS. The last few weeks I also developed a simple Game-Engine (C++ + Directx9) in win7, bringing to the edges of my laptop with no problems.

Leave a comment